Off-Campus Access

The login page you'll see looks like this.

What are Off-Campus Links?

Links in the library's database list start with some extra text:
https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=

This makes the link work on- or off-campus.  With this text to the start of the link, a person who clicks the link can be recognized as an SJF user after she or he logs in with a network ID (like you use to access Gmail or Brightspace).

After logging in, you should be able to get into the database or resource.

Why are Off-Campus Links required?

Publishers, database vendors, and other information providers license resources to libraries based on the idea that only users at that library's institution can use them.  The library provides most of these vendors computer network addresses that identify the college.  To use a library resource off-campus, the library has to use this off-campus linking system to authorize that a user is a current student, faculty, or staff member.

Use your Fisher network log-in credentials. This is:

• what you use to log in to resources through my.sjf.edu, like email or Brightspace

What to look out for:

• If you are enrolled in the Online Masters for Nursing or Online Pharmacy, you may have another login. Use your MySJF one.
• Your login isn't your whole email address -- only use the section of your email address before the @sjfc.edu.

Because off-campus linking relies relies on many different factors -- the spelling of the link, the linking system itself, and the page you're linking to -- there is a lot of opportunity for an off-campus link to fail.  Here are some tips to try if it doesn't work.

Does your login not work?

Make sure you're using your network login (like the first part of your SJFC email, before the "@" sign).  If you have trouble with your network account, consult the Student Network Accounts FAQ from OIT.

Trouble using the password reset system?  Contact the OIT Service Desk at oitservicedesk@sjfc.edu or by phone at 585-385-8016.

After logging in, does it still not seem to have access to the resource/database?

Report database access problems to librarysystems@sjfc.edu, and we'll look into it!  Include in your email:

• Where you found the link (library database list, Brightspace, email)
• If the link is from somewhere other than the library page, copy the webpage address of the link
• The database you tried to link to
• A description of the page you see -- "login required" with a logo for the database, for example?

After logging in, do you see a page like this?

This means the link may have a misspelling in it or the database/resource may have changed its web address.  Email librarysystems@sjfc.edu the "Problem Off-Campus URL" -- we'll look into it right away!  Include in your email:

• Where you found the link (library database list, Brightspace, email)
• The database you tried to access

Creating an off-campus link is easy, but you need to have the spelling of the link just right.  This Off-Campus Link Creator can help.

Here's a tool to create these links for you. Paste or type a URL address in the box below, and an off-campus access URL will be created.

URL:

Your off-campus access URL will appear here.

Copy and paste this when providing a link to an SJF user who could be off campus.

Use a Bookmark(let) to create an off-campus link

Clicking this link will take the current page you're looking at in your browser and add the part that makes the link work off-campus. Bookmark this link, and click it when you're on a page that needs to be converted to "off-campus accessible." This is called a Bookmarklet.

Drag this link to your Bookmarks Toolbar!

->Off-Campus Access to This Page

Notes:

• If the bookmarks toolbar is not visible in your browser, you can try to enable it under the View > Toolbars menu.
• The bookmarklet is compatible with most web browsers and platforms as long as your bookmarks or favorites allow javascript.
• You can also save the bookmarklet in your bookmarks folder instead of the toolbar.