LibGuides: M.S. in Nursing: Researching & Searching the Literature

Article Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Articles: nursing and health topics, now with more full text
PubMed @ Fisher This link opens in a new window
Articles in medicine and life sciences; some full-text
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answerscollecting independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making
APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Psychology and related disciplines; full-text articles, books, reviews and more. Includes APA PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and other resources; nursing and allied health topics
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides complete, full-text information from leading nursing allied health, and related publications. Over 620 titles cover more than 70 topics, spanning from 1986 to the present.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window
TRIP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Includes a PICO search tool.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of peer-reviewed research literature such as scholarly journals, books and chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications, along with metrics and analytical tools to work with those citations. Fields covered include the sciences, social sciences, health, arts, and humanities.
PEDro, Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 27,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.

Pharmacology

Lexicomp This link opens in a new window
Drug information; point-of-care
Lexi-Comp ONLINE is the searchable, electronic equivalent of the popular and well-respected handbook series of clinical databases. It includes Lexi-Drugs, Lexi-Interact, Lexi-Natural Products, Lexi-CALC, Lexi-Drug ID, Lexi-IV Compatibility, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs, Lexi-Lab and Diagnostics, and LexiPALS (patient advisory leaflets) to name a few.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Pharmaceutical information, including drug interactions and IV compatibility.
The Micromedex Healthcare Series includes a comprehensive collection of over 15,000 drug and drug product monographs and is updated continuously.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
Clinical, point-of-care reference tool for healthcare professionals. Includes clinical criteria, decision trees, statistics calculators, and more. Drug information provided by Micromedex.
Mobile app available: Installation FAQ
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Information about dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. Including interactions, effectiveness, and adverse effects.
Combines former databases Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.
This comprehensive database of natural product-based medicines is updated daily/weekly. It includes drug-herb interactions, alternate names and brands, scientific names and variants, safety and effectiveness information, dosage and indications, information for the patient, and thousands of reference citations.

Drugs@FDA
Drugs@FDA includes information about drugs, including biological products, approved for human use in the United States (see FAQ),
more...less...
It does not include information about FDA-approved products regulated by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (for example, vaccines, allergenic products, blood and blood products, plasma derivatives, cellular and gene therapy products). For prescription brand-name drugs, Drugs@FDA typically includes the most recent labeling approved by the FDA (for example, Prescribing Information and FDA-approved patient labeling when available), regulatory information, and FDA staff reviews that evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the drug.
DailyMed
The DailyMed database contains labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. DailyMed does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products (e.g., labeling that is not submitted to the FDA).

Researching a Theory

Researching a Theory
This guide will show you how to identify and select a theory, determine the historical foundations of your theory and how it is being used in practice.

Researching Tools, Instruments, and Measures

Tests, Instruments, & Other Measures
This guide will show you how to identify, access and get permission to use a tool, instrument or measure.

Finding Health Statistics

Health Statistics
This guide has sources for health statistics for New York State and by county. It also includes sources for US and Global Health statistics.

Learn Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Instructional materials related to research process: articles, books, case studies, videos, and datasets on topics including research design, method, statistics, and data analysis. (Sage Research Guide Available)
SAGE Research Methods is a comprehensive database consisting of ebooks, articles, case studies, instructional videos and datasets addressing a wide range of instructional needs related to the research process. All levels of research are covered including research design, methodological topics, statistics, and data analysis. Select by discipline to learn about the prevailing research practices and trends in your discipline.