LibGuides: POSC267 Foundations of Law: Home

POSC267 Foundations of Law

Presentation Guidelines:

Each group must present about the legal system from a selected country.

Each member of the group will research the legal system from one of the following areas:

Historical Background
Current Perspective
Compare to the U.S. System
Famous Judge or Legal Case

Information about Countries

Library of Congress Country Studies
Contains description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
CIA - The World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Eur-Lex
Provides access to European Union government documentation.

Databases with Articles on Law and Politics

Hein Online This link opens in a new window
Articles, law reviews, government and historical documents; law and political science topics
HeinOnline is a collection of 19 distinct collections of documents, law journals, and related historical, legal and political science resources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in the arts, sciences and business
A full-text database containing complete back runs of over 600 academic journals in the arts, sciences, and business. Titles in the database are 1-5 years behind the current issues, depending on publisher restrictions.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary legal resources, as well as news and business articles
Campus Research is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to law related resources and a comprehensive collection of news and business information.
Big Red Box This link opens in a new window
Search Lavery Library for articles, books, ebooks, chapters, videos and more

The Big Red Box

The Articles, books & more box on the library homepage will search for items that the library owns, and a majority of articles available through the library's databases. You can always ask a librarian for help.

Military Law

The library of Congress has a Military Law Collection that you may find helpful.

Use the search box at the top to search using keywords. Here are some suggestions:

Military Law
Uniform Code of Military Justice
UCMJ Legislative History

Available Books

Legal Traditions of the World by H. Patrick Glenn
Call Number: K559 .G545 2004
ISBN: 0199260885
Publication Date: 2004-09-16
The Politics of Lawmaking in Post-Mao China by Murray Scott Tanner
Call Number: KNQ2516 .T36 1999
ISBN: 0198293399
Publication Date: 1999-04-15
Comparative Law and Legal Traditions by Mousourakis, George
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9783030282813
Publication Date: 2019
Comparative Matters by Ran Hirschl
Call Number: K3165 .H575 2014
ISBN: 9780198714514
Publication Date: 2014-10-14