LibGuides: Political Science: Articles

Databases with Legal Information

These databases contain law reviews as well as legislative, judicial, and administrative documentation.

Hein Online This link opens in a new window
Articles, law reviews, government and historical documents; law and political science topics
HeinOnline is a collection of 19 distinct collections of documents, law journals, and related historical, legal and political science resources.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary legal resources, as well as news and business articles
Campus Research is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to law related resources and a comprehensive collection of news and business information.

Strictly Scholarly

You can be sure to find scholarly resources by using these databases.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in the arts, sciences and business
A full-text database containing complete back runs of over 600 academic journals in the arts, sciences, and business. Titles in the database are 1-5 years behind the current issues, depending on publisher restrictions.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals; all topics.
"The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.

These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1."

Other Political Science Related Databases

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: The Humanities and Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses; humanities, social sciences, and education topics
A searchable collection of theses and dissertations in the humanities and social sciences, including the field of education. This database lists more than 1 million dissertations and theses and contains the full text for many of them. Coverage: 1637-Present.
GPO (U.S. Government Publishing Office) This link opens in a new window
Search for official publications of the U.S. federal government and its offices.
Links to full text for most recent publications. Consult WorldCat to request other publications through the Depository Library program.
Coverage includes all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.

E-International Relations
Freely available articles and ebooks on international relations topics

Databases with a variety of information

These databases hold a variety of information on lots of topics and of many types (scholarly, trade, and popular publications). Be sure to know what you need and what type of information you have found.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
All disciplines; scholarly, trade and popular articles
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade and news articles; all topics
All ProQuest Databases rolled into one.

Newspaper Articles

You can find newspaper articles by using these databases.

ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades.
ProQuest US NewsStream This link opens in a new window
Major US news sources, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post
Provides comprehensive coverage of major US newspapers, including the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, as well as other important U.S. newspapers.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary legal resources, as well as news and business articles
Campus Research is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to law related resources and a comprehensive collection of news and business information.

Finding Background Information

When the topic is relatively new to you, you may want to use these databases to find background information.

SAGE Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries; all topics.