LibGuides: African American Studies: Find Articles at Lavery Library

Lavery Databases

There are over 150 databases available at Lavery Library that you can use to search for articles and sources. The curated list below is a starting point for your research in African American Studies.

Scholarly Databases

The databases below contain a variety of sources, including scholarly and peer reviewed articles.

Academic Search Premier
All disciplines; scholarly, trade and popular articles
JSTOR
Full-text journals in the arts, sciences and business
A full-text database containing complete back runs of over 600 academic journals in the arts, sciences, and business. Titles in the database are 1-5 years behind the current issues, depending on publisher restrictions.
Project MUSE Journals
Journal articles and e-books; humanities and social sciences topics
ProQuest Central
Scholarly, trade and news articles; all topics
All ProQuest Databases rolled into one.
Sage Journals
Peer-reviewed journals; all topics.
"The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.

These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1."
Taylor & Francis Journals
Full-text articles covering social sciences, health, and life sciences
Taylor & Francis Complete offers full-text access to 1400+ scholarly journals with back files published by Taylor & Francis or Routledge. The collection covers all academic disciplines emphasizing social sciences, health and life sciences and applied research.

Newspapers & Magazines

The databases and individual titles below contain popular press articles on a range of topics.

Gale OneFile: News
Newspapers and magazines in full text (NOVELNY).
Formerly named “Infotrac Newsstand.”
Life Magazine Archive
Extensive archive of the prominent weekly news magazine Life, from its first issue in November 1936 through May 2000.
ProQuest Ethnic NewsWatch
Bilingual (English/Spanish) full text of articles from ethnic, minority, and native presses
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
ProQuest US NewsStream
Major US news sources, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post
Provides comprehensive coverage of major US newspapers, including the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, as well as other important U.S. newspapers.
Time Magazine Archive
Extensive archive of the prominent weekly news magazine Time, from its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000.

Books and Films at Lavery

Search the Big Red Box

The two searches linked below are customized to search for books or films. Use them as a starting point to learn more about a particular topic within African American Studies.

Search for Books
This custom search will retrieve books on a wide-range of topics on the African American experience.
Search for Films
This custom search will retrieve films on a wide-range of topics on the African American experience.