LibGuides: Digital Media: Video

Lavery Databases for Film and Video

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, and share playlists.
Films On Demand is our web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group. Choose from more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Users can organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and personalize folders.

Legacy URL: http://digital.films.com/portalplaylists.aspx?cid=1637&aid=7771

Government Video Resources

Government works are not copyright protected. Government works are defined as work produced by an officer or employee of the United States government. Please be cautious here, as works produced by contractors are copyright protected.

Library of Congress American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services
National Archives Presidential Library Podcasts
United States House of Representatives
Live streaming and archive
United States Senate Live Stream
White House Live
Live streaming of White House press

Free Internet Sources for Films and Video

There are many sources for media freely available online. Please be sure to check each site for copyright stipulations.

Creative Commons
The Creative Commons includes music, video, writing, code, and other creative work.
Khan Academy
Extensive library of content, including interactive challenges, assessments, and videos from any computer with access to the web.
PBS Video
Some full episodes available
TED Talks
Riveting talks by remarkable people, free to the world
The History Channel
Some full episodes available
The Internet Archive
The Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.
Wikimedia Commons
A collection of images, sounds, and videos submitted by the public for common use.