LibGuides: Digital Media: Images

Citing Images

Citation Resources Guide
Lavery Library's general citation information guide; includes MLA information an basics about how to cite images.
MLA Style: Citing an Image from the Internet
Detailed examples for citing images from the Fashion Institute of Technology Library

Government Sources for Online Images

Government works are not copyright protected. Government works are defined as work produced by an officer or employee of the United States government. Please be cautious here, as works produced by contractors are copyright protected.

Library of Congress American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services
White House Photo Gallery

Free Internet Sources for Images

There are many sources for media freely available online. Please be sure to check each site for copyright stipulations.

Digital Public Library of America
You can search a word or phrase such as Rochester NY or COVID. Then, filter results to images.
Creative Commons
Creative Commons develops, supports, and stewards legal and technical infrastructure that maximizes digital creativity, sharing, and innovation. The Creative Commons includes music, video, writing, code, and other creative work.
Flickr
Flickr is home to over five billion of the world’s photos, with archived collections from the Smithsonian, Library of Congress and more in The Commons.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is intended to be a free resource of art history primarily for students and teachers. The Web Gallery of Art uses authentic literature and advice from professionals, to ensure the quality and authenticity of the content.
Wikimedia Commons
A collection of images, sounds, and videos submitted by the public for common use.
World Images
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project
nappy
"Beautiful photos of Black and Brown people, for free. For commercial and personal use."
Pexels
Stock photos and royalty-free images

Sources for New York State and Rochester Images

Rochester Images from Rochester Public Library
Search Rochester images
New York Heritage Digital Collections
You can search for a word or phrase (e.g. St. John Fisher College) and filter results to image files or photographs.

New York Times (Sign Up or Renew) This link opens in a new window
Create an account on NYTimes.com using Lavery Library's academic subscription, and you can access all content on their site.
Already have an account set up?
- Link to the New York Times (unlimited access on browser or mobile apps)
- Link to the New York Times “TimesMachine” for access to historical archives (limited to up to 5 PDF downloads per day, per user).

Online Archives & Collections (Lavery Library Research Guide)
More resources and links are available on this research guide.

Reverse Image Searching

If you have an image and want to learn more about it, you can use one of these tools. Find out author, year, and other type of information you need to cite the image.

TinEye
Reverse image search.
Search with an image on Google
You can learn more about an image when you upload it to Google ad search by image.