LibGuides: Digital Media: Audio

Government Resources for Audio

Government works are not copyright protected. Government works are defined as work produced by an officer or employee of the United States government. Please be cautious here, as works produced by contractors are copyright protected.

Google Search of Government Podcasts
Library of Congress American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services
National Archives Presidential Library Podcasts

Free Internet Sources for Music, Sounds, and Audio

There are many sources for media freely available online. Please be sure to check each site for copyright stipulations.

Creative Commons
Creative Commons develops, supports, and stewards legal and technical infrastructure that maximizes digital creativity, sharing, and innovation. The Creative Commons includes music, video, writing, code, and other creative work.
Free-Loops.com
Free-Loops.com provides free loops and audio clip downloads to the music production community, provided in Wav, MP3, Aif, & Midi Sound Files. Music Software & Free VST Plugins.
SoundBible
SoundBible offers free sound clips for download in either wav or mp3 format, offering free and royalty free sound effects and clips for video editors, movie scores, game designers, and weekend sound warriors.
The Internet Archive
The Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.
Wikimedia Commons
A collection of images, sounds, and videos submitted by the public for common use.