LibGuides: ENGL 420 Seminar Guide: Suggested Databases

Suggested Databases for Social/Historical Context

Are you looking for background information and social context about your primary text and its author? Here are some suggested starting points.

Big Red Box This link opens in a new window
Search Lavery Library for articles, books, ebooks, chapters, videos and more
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
All disciplines; scholarly, trade and popular articles
Over 4,000 full-text journals, with more than 13,000 journals indexed and abstracted. Full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and other disciplines.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade and news articles; all topics
All ProQuest Databases rolled into one.

Suggested Databases for Literary Criticism

In addition to Academic Search Premier, ProQuest Central, and the Big Red Box, try searching for literary criticism (criticism about your primary text) in these databases:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in the arts, sciences and business
A full-text database containing complete back runs of over 600 academic journals in the arts, sciences, and business. Titles in the database are 1-5 years behind the current issues, depending on publisher restrictions.
Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and e-books; humanities and social sciences topics
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering social sciences, health, and life sciences
Taylor & Francis Complete offers full-text access to 1400+ scholarly journals with back files published by Taylor & Francis or Routledge. The collection covers all academic disciplines emphasizing social sciences, health and life sciences and applied research.