Durable Links

Below are examples of several databases and the different ways you can get a durable link out of each one. This is not an exhaustive list: if you would like a particular example database included, submit a comment below or send an email to librarysystems@sjfc.edu!

Examples: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, Communication Source, Education Source, SPORTDiscus, and others.

1. Connect to an EBSCO database from the Lavery Library Databases A-Z List.
2. Search for articles or media.
3. Click the title of an article to view its detailed information.
4. Click the "Permalink" tool in the column on the right. A small window pops up with a link; right-click and copy the entire link (only a small portion of the link shows in the window). Paste the permalink into your document.
   Your URL will now look like the one below.
   http://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ979774&site=eds-live&scope=site

1. Connect to Films on Demand from the Lavery Library Databases A-Z List.
2. Find a video you want to link to elsewhere.
3. Under the video box, click the "Embed/Link" button, identified with a chain link icon.
4. Copy the Record URL. Your link will look like the one below:
   https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103332&xtid=138020

1. Connect to JSTOR from the Lavery Library Databases A-Z List.
2. Perform search.
3. Copy the 'Stable URL:' listed under the article title and paste into your document.
   EXAMPLE:
   http://www.jstor.org/stable/30046068
4. In front of the above URL you must paste this URL:
   https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=
5. Your URL will now look like the one below. It will take students straight to the article they are required to read.
   EXAMPLE:
   https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/30046068

1. Connect to Journals@Ovid from the Lavery Library Databases A-Z List.
2. Perform a search and find your article.
3. Near the top left hand side of your article will be a link titled “Email Jumpstart”.
4. Click on that link.
5. A small window will appear where you can enter an email address and send the perma link to that email address.  The perma link is at the top of the little screen titled “Your Jumpstart URL is:”
6. The URL will look like the one below and will link straight to the article.
   EXAMPLE:
   https://ovidsp-ovid-com.pluma.sjfc.edu/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=fulltext&D=ovft&AN=00124784-900000000-99259&PDF=y

1. Connect to a ProQuest database from the Lavery Library Databases A-Z List.
2. Search for articles.
3. Copy the URL and paste into your document.
   EXAMPLE:
   https://www.proquest.com/docview/217929696
4. In front of the above URL, you must paste this URL:
   https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=
5. Your URL will now look like the one below.
   https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/docview/217929696

1. Connect to Sage from the Lavery Library Databases A-Z List.
2. Find an article you are interested in.
   3. Choose "Abstract"
3. In the column on the right, under "This Article" copy the DOI (a long string of numbers)
4. Paste the DOI after this URL:
   https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/
   EXAMPLE:
   https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1177/1534484305278283
5. This will bring you to a page with the citation to the article. In the column on the right, look for the heading "This Article." Below this there is a link to the full text of the article.

OR:

1. If you see a link for Full Text (PDF), hover over the link and right-click and copy the link.
2. Remove the reference to "pluma.sjfc.edu" in the middle of the link.
3. Add this "pluma" text to the beginning of the link:
   https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=

EXAMPLE:

1. This is the copied Full Text (PDF) link:
   http://hrd.sagepub.com.pluma.sjfc.edu/cgi/reprint/4/3/356
2. Remove the ezproxy text:
   http://hrd.sagepub.com/cgi/reprint/4/3/356
3. Add the ezproxy information at the beginning of the link:
   https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://hrd.sagepub.com/cgi/reprint/4/3...

1. Connect to Science Direct from the Lavery Library Databases A-Z List.
2. Find article.
3. Copy the URL and paste into your document.
   EXAMPLE:
   http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0001879108000638
4. In front of the above URL you must paste this URL:
   https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=
5. Your URL will now look like the one below. It will take students straight to the article they are required to read.
   EXAMPLE:
   https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article...