Gender and Sexuality Studies

International information and resources on gender equality and the empowerment of women.

From the website: The Women & Gender Studies Section (WGSS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries was formed to discuss, promote, and support women and gender studies collections and services in academic and research libraries.

From the website: We are campaigning for a world where human rights are enjoyed by all. Note this link opens on the Amnesty International: Sexual and Reproductive Rights page.

From the website: We seek to illuminate interlocking relationships between inequality and multiple systems of oppression, axes of domination defined by class, gender, race, ethnicity, sexuality, ability, geography, and other markers of constructed difference, as embedded in contexts of wealth, poverty, and power.

From the website: Adopted in 1948, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights is generally agreed to be the foundation of international human rights law.

World Pulse is a world-wide media and communication network devoted to bringing women a global voice. Women can speak for themselves to the world and connect to solve global problems.

A gateway to Library of Congress collections for the study of women’s history and culture in the United States.

From the website: This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections.

Essays on gay history and literature by Rictor Norton, with book synopses and bibliography.

The GLBT Historical Society collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture and arts in all their diversity.

From the website: The stories on I’m From Driftwood send a simple but powerful message to LGBTQIA+ people everywhere: You are not alone. I’m From Driftwood combats isolation and creates empathy to build a more understanding and accepting world. These are our stories, told in our own voices.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to a large, diversified collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities.

The New York Public Library digital collection of archives of activist American LGBT groups.

Resource on singular third-person pronouns created with the intent of being a gender-neutral pronoun set (xe/xem, ze/zir, etc.).

It is the mission of ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the USC Libraries to collect, preserve, and make accessible LGBTQ historical materials, while promoting new scholarship, on and public awareness, of queer histories.

OutHistory.org tells stories about people in the past who identified as lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender; and people who did not conform to dominant norms of sexuality and gender.

Collection of literary works by African American women prepared by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

A resource for Francophone African women writers.

This Web site is focused on the cultural intersections of gender and advertising. The goal is to promote greater awareness of the relationships of gender and advertising as well as an understanding of the social, cultural, political, personal, psychological and other effects of gender and advertising.

From the website: Sociological Images is designed to encourage all kinds of people to exercise and develop their sociological imagination by presenting brief sociological discussions of compelling and timely imagery that spans the breadth of sociological inquiry.

The purpose of the American Men’s Studies Association (AMSA) is to develop the critical studies of men and masculinities globally through the advancement of feminist-informed scholarship.