LibGuides: Public Health: Library Databases

Library Databases

Best Bests to get started

PubMed @ Fisher
Articles in medicine and life sciences; some full-text. (PubMed Research Guide Available)
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PolicyMap
Mapping and analytics tools, including GIS data covering the United States
Sage Journals
Peer-reviewed journals; all topics.
"The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.

These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1."
ScienceDirect
Peer-reviewed journal articles; science, social science, and humanities topics
The ScienceDirect College Edition provides libraries with access to over 1200 peer-reviewed full-text journals in pharmacology, toxicology, pharmaceutics, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, microbiology, health sciences, immunology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences, decision sciences, business, management, and accounting, economics, econometrics, and finance, environmental science and agriculture. Journal coverage dates back to 2002.

More valuable library databases

CINAHL Ultimate
Articles: nursing and health topics, now with more full text
Hein Online
Articles, law reviews, government and historical documents; law and political science topics
HeinOnline is a collection of 19 distinct collections of documents, law journals, and related historical, legal and political science resources.
ProQuest Health Management
Articles on health administration topics
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
Sage Research Methods
Instructional materials related to research process: articles, books, case studies, videos, and datasets on topics including research design, method, statistics, and data analysis. (Sage Research Guide Available)
SAGE Research Methods is a comprehensive database consisting of ebooks, articles, case studies, instructional videos and datasets addressing a wide range of instructional needs related to the research process. All levels of research are covered including research design, methodological topics, statistics, and data analysis. Select by discipline to learn about the prevailing research practices and trends in your discipline.
Westlaw Campus Research
Primary and secondary legal resources, as well as news and business articles