Statistics and Data Sources

An expanded version of business and company Resource Center. Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports.

From the United States Census Bureau’s website: the Statistics of US Businesses is an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry.

From the United States Census Bureau’s website: The Advance Monthly Sales for Retail and Food Services provides early estimates of monthly sales for companies in the retail trade and food services sectors.

From the United States Census Bureau’s website: the Manufacturers’ Shipments, Inventories, and Orders (M3) survey provides broad-based, monthly statistical data on economic conditions in the domestic manufacturing sector. The survey measures current industrial activity and provides an indication of future business trends.

From the United States Census Bureau’s website: the Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years.

From the Federal Reserve System’s website: the Federal Reserve's monthly index of industrial production and the related capacity indexes and capacity utilization rates cover manufacturing, mining, and electric and gas utilities.

From the United States Census Bureau’s website: For over sixty years, the QFR program has collected and published quarterly aggregate statistics on the financial results and position of U.S. corporations.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: the gross domestic product is a comprehensive measure of U.S. economic activity. GDP is the value of the goods and services produced in the United States.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: this is a comprehensive measure of the economies of each state and the District of Columbia. GDP estimates the value of the goods and services produced in a state.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: this is data which offers a comprehensive picture of the inner workings of the U.S. economy, showing production relationships among industries and commodities.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: this paper introduces new users to the basics of the U.S. national income and product accounts (NIPAs). The Primer also provides a brief overview of the derivation of the NIPA measures and a list of references for further information.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: these annual statistics provide information on the amount and characteristics of new investments in the United States by foreign investors.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: The NIPA Handbook is intended to be a living reference that can be updated to reflect changes in concepts or methodology as they are introduced into the NIPAs.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: provides data on the income people get from wages and salaries, Social Security and other government benefits, dividends and interest, business ownership, and other sources.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: the personal saving rate is the percentage of disposable income that people save. This rate is followed to learn about Americans’ financial health and to help predict consumer behavior and economic growth.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: provides statistics that are adjusted using BEA's regional price parities to better compare the buying power of personal income across the 50 states and the District of Columbia, or from one metro area to another.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: the Regional Input-Output Modeling System (RIMS II) user's guide provides practical advice on the appropriate use of the RIMS II model as well as an explanation of the Input-Output framework and RIMS II model assumptions.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: the PCE price index, released each month in the Personal Income and Outlays report, reflects changes in the prices of goods and services purchased by consumers in the United States. Quarterly and annual data are included in the GDP release.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is your source of accurate and objective data about the nation's economy.

From the U.S. Department of State’s website: these notes are the U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets

From the U.S. Department of Agriculture Foreign Agricultural Service's website: the USDA’s Global Agricultural Information Network (GAIN) provides timely information on the agricultural economy, products and issues in foreign countries.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: part of the US Department of Labor, the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

From the International Labour Organization’s website: the Department of Statistics (STATISTICS) has the main responsibility for the ILO's statistical programme. It constitutes the core of ILO statistical expertise and activities, which are aimed at ensuring the availability of relevant, timely and reliable labour statistics at both national and international levels.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: the International Labor Comparisons (ILC) data are used to assess U.S. economic and labor market performance relative to that of other countries and to evaluate the competitive position of the United States in increasingly global markets.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: Business Employment Dynamics is a set of statistics generated from the Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages program. These quarterly data series consist of gross job gains and gross job losses statistics from 1992 forward.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: this source provides information on school enrollment and employment status it is collected monthly in the Current Population Survey (CPS). Each October, a supplement to the CPS gathers more detailed information about recent degree recipients and school enrollment.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: the data are derived from summaries of employment and total pay of workers covered by state and federal unemployment insurance (UI) legislation and provided by State Workforce Agencies (SWAs).

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: a product of the National Compensation Survey, measures the average cost to employers for wages and salaries and benefits per employee hour worked. The ECEC includes the civilian economy, which includes data from both private industry and state and local government.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: the Employment Cost Index (ECI) measures the change in the cost of labor, free from the influence of employment shifts among occupations and industries.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: this release focuses on the educational attainment, employment experiences, and partner status of these individuals from their 18th birthday until they turned 31.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: this news release presents statistics from the Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey (JOLTS). The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) collects and compiles JOLTS data monthly from a sample of nonfarm establishments.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: this release presents civilian labor force and unemployment data from the Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS) program.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: this news release presents civilian labor force and unemployment data for states and selected substate areas from the Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS) program. Also presented are nonfarm payroll employment estimates by state and industry supersector from the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program.

From the US Department of Labor website: this news release presents the weekly unemployment insurance (UI) claims reported by each state's unemployment insurance program offices.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: data on the labor force, employment, and unemployment collected as part of the Current Population Survey.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: the Mass Layoff Statistics (MLS) program collects reports on mass layoff actions that result in workers being separated from their jobs.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: the Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS) program produces monthly and annual employment, unemployment, and labor force data for Census regions and divisions, States, counties, metropolitan areas, and many cities, by place of residence.

International Trade is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States.

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

From the U.S. Department of Agriculture Foreign Agricultural Service's website: USDA's Export Sales Reporting Program monitors U.S. agricultural export sales on a daily and weekly basis.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: the U.S. International Investment Position provides accumulated value of U.S. owned financial assets in other countries and U.S. liabilities to residents of other countries at the end of each quarter.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: the International Trade in Goods and Services provides trade in goods and services between U.S. residents and residents of other countries each month.

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce’s website: the transactions reflect U.S. trade; income on stocks, bonds, and loans and related investment; foreign aid; and more.

From the United States Census Bureau’s website: presents total quantity and value of commodities shipped between the United States, Puerto Rico, and U.S. possessions.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: displays the average change in selling prices of seasonal goods and services.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: the Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services.

From the United States Census Bureau’s website: the CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.

From the United States Census Bureau’s website: the Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website: the primary use of the indexes is to deflate trade statistics, notably the foreign trade sector of the National Income and Product Accounts (NIPA) constructed by the Department of Commerce.