LibGuides: CRNA Library Guide: Finding Articles

Searching Lavery for Articles

There are many databases available through Lavery Library that you can use to start your research. In the box below, are listed some popular nursing and health databases. Keep in mind, depending on your research needs, you may need to refer to databases beyond the selected list below. When this happens you can find the full list of databases using the link below.

If you have questions or want help starting your research, contact me to set up a one-on-one consultation.

Databases A-Z
Link to full list of available Lavery Library databases.

Getting started with searching the literature

If you're just starting your journey, and need a little extra guidance on how to start searching the literature. use the resources linked below. They offer guided directions and how-to videos on how to start searching the literature.

Building Search Skills
The skills covered on this Guide are best learned after gaining a foundation of library search skills. Note, this link opens in a new tab.
Lavery Library How-To Videos
Home page featuring all of the Lavery Library video tutorials
Searching the Literature
Use this Guide to learn how to get started searching for literature on your topic. Note, this link opens in a new tab.

Selected Journals

The selected academic, peer-reviewed journals available through Lavery Library and other open access platforms. This list is by no means comprehensive, but rather offers a few targeted journals as a reference point. Use the Nursing and Health Databases to build literature searches that reach beyond these few journals.

Not finding the journal your looking for? Use the Library's Find Journals link on the homepage (or available below) to search by journal title. If the Library doesn't have access to the journal you need or you're unable to find the journal, contact your librarian: Christina Hillman (chillman@sjf.edu).

Find Journals by Title

Nursing and Health Databases

The database list below is not exhaustive, but includes popular nursing and health-related databases. This list can serve as a starting point for your literature search.

APA PsycInfo
American Psychological Association (APA) database. Covers many disciplines related to psychology, including business, education, nursing, pharmacology, and law. Includes journal articles, books, technical reports, book reviews, student dissertations, and more.
CINAHL Ultimate
Articles: nursing and health topics, now with more full text
Cochrane Library
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answerscollecting independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly journals, medical topics; includes patient education sheets from AHFS Consumer Medication Information
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Full-text of clinical nursing and medical journals
Journals@Ovid offers access to the table of contents and references for 500 biomedical titles, with access to items such as research articles, book and other media reviews, editorials, abstracts of symposia and calendars. The LWW Collection (Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins), part of the Journals@Ovid database, provides access to the full-text of 140 clinical nursing and medical journals in the Journals@Ovid collection. Some of these journals are indexed in CINAHL with links to the Ovid full-text. Journals@Ovid is updated daily, and most journals cover from 1996 to the present.
ProQuest Health Management
Articles on health administration topics
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source
Full-text articles and other resources; nursing and allied health topics
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides complete, full-text information from leading nursing allied health, and related publications. Over 620 titles cover more than 70 topics, spanning from 1986 to the present.
PubMed @ Fisher
Articles in medicine and life sciences; some full-text. (PubMed Research Guide Available)
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect
Peer-reviewed journal articles; science, social science, and humanities topics
The ScienceDirect College Edition provides libraries with access to over 1200 peer-reviewed full-text journals in pharmacology, toxicology, pharmaceutics, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, microbiology, health sciences, immunology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences, decision sciences, business, management, and accounting, economics, econometrics, and finance, environmental science and agriculture. Journal coverage dates back to 2002.
Scopus
Multidisciplinary database of peer-reviewed research literature such as scholarly journals, books and chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications, along with metrics and analytical tools to work with those citations. Fields covered include the sciences, social sciences, health, arts, and humanities.