LibGuides: Ed.D. Library Guide: Find Articles

Searching for Articles

There are many databases available through Lavery Library that you can use to search for articles. In the boxes below, some popular databases are listed, broken out by discipline. Keep in mind, depending on your topic, you may need to refer to databases outside of your main field of focus. When this happens, you can find the full list of databases using the Databases A-Z link below.

If you have questions or want help starting your research, contact me to set up a one-on-one consultation.

Databases A-Z
Link to full list of available Lavery Library databases.
Interlibrary Loan
Help with accessing articles not available through Lavery Library.

Getting Started with Searching

The two Guides listed below are great resources for helping you build your search skills. The first Guide is a basic overview of literature searching and the second Guide is intended to build upon your basic searching skills.

Searching the Literature
Use this Guide to learn how to get started searching for literature on your topic. Note, this link opens in a new tab.
Building Search Skills
The skills covered on this Guide are best learned after gaining a foundation of library search skills. Note, this link opens in a new tab.

Reference & Citation Databases

Use the databases below to help you define your topic, better understand a concept, see how articles are interconnected through citations, and more.

Dimensions (Create a Free Account) This link opens in a new window
Interlinked research information system that searches for scholarly publications, datasets, patents and grants
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other literature with citation links (Google Research Guide Available)
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
SAGE Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries; all topics.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Instructional materials related to research process: articles, books, case studies, videos, and datasets on topics including research design, method, statistics, and data analysis. (Sage Research Guide Available)
SAGE Research Methods is a comprehensive database consisting of ebooks, articles, case studies, instructional videos and datasets addressing a wide range of instructional needs related to the research process. All levels of research are covered including research design, methodological topics, statistics, and data analysis. Select by discipline to learn about the prevailing research practices and trends in your discipline.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of peer-reviewed research literature such as scholarly journals, books and chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications, along with metrics and analytical tools to work with those citations. Fields covered include the sciences, social sciences, health, arts, and humanities.
Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Detailed publication information about journals, newspapers, magazines
Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. The database provides information on active, forthcoming, ceased, and suspended titles in more than 900 subject areas.

Education Databases

The database list below is not exhaustive, but includes popular scholarly education or multidisciplinary databases. This list can serve as a starting point for your literature search.

APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Psychology and related disciplines; full-text articles, books, reviews and more. Includes APA PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive education resource; chiefly scholarly and trade publications
ERIC on EBSCO This link opens in a new window
National bibliographic database from the US Dept. of Education
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in the arts, sciences and business
A full-text database containing complete back runs of over 600 academic journals in the arts, sciences, and business. Titles in the database are 1-5 years behind the current issues, depending on publisher restrictions.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals covering life sciences, economics, law, humanities, medicine, math, and health sciences
Oxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press, which is a department of Oxford University. We publish well over 200 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.
ProQuest Education This link opens in a new window
Journal articles; education topics
The ProQuest Education Database gives users access to over 700 top educational publications, with complete information on hundreds of educational topics. H.W. Wilson's Education Abstracts offers over 540 publications and a wide range of topics, including adult education, home schooling, literacy standards, and special education. This database package contains articles from 1991 to the present.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals; all topics.
"The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.

These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1."
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journal articles; science, social science, and humanities topics
The ScienceDirect College Edition provides libraries with access to over 1200 peer-reviewed full-text journals in pharmacology, toxicology, pharmaceutics, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, microbiology, health sciences, immunology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences, decision sciences, business, management, and accounting, economics, econometrics, and finance, environmental science and agriculture. Journal coverage dates back to 2002.
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering social sciences, health, and life sciences
Taylor & Francis Complete offers full-text access to 1400+ scholarly journals with back files published by Taylor & Francis or Routledge. The collection covers all academic disciplines emphasizing social sciences, health and life sciences and applied research.

Business Databases

The database list below is not exhaustive, but includes popular scholarly business or multidisciplinary databases. This list can serve as a starting point for your literature search.

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Business topics; contains articles, company and executive profiles.
APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Psychology and related disciplines; full-text articles, books, reviews and more. Includes APA PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business topics; journal articles, reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals covering life sciences, economics, law, humanities, medicine, math, and health sciences
Oxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press, which is a department of Oxford University. We publish well over 200 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and business publications
ProQuest Research Library provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text of articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and key business publications. The database covers more than 3,700 publications, with full-text from over 2,500 publications. Titles are from 1972 forward, and the database is updated monthly.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals; all topics.
"The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.

These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1."
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journal articles; science, social science, and humanities topics
The ScienceDirect College Edition provides libraries with access to over 1200 peer-reviewed full-text journals in pharmacology, toxicology, pharmaceutics, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, microbiology, health sciences, immunology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences, decision sciences, business, management, and accounting, economics, econometrics, and finance, environmental science and agriculture. Journal coverage dates back to 2002.

Nursing and Health Databases

The database list below is not exhaustive, but includes popular nursing and health-related databases. This list can serve as a starting point for your literature search.

APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Psychology and related disciplines; full-text articles, books, reviews and more. Includes APA PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Articles: nursing and health topics, now with more full text
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, medical topics; includes patient education sheets from AHFS Consumer Medication Information
Journals@Ovid Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text of clinical nursing and medical journals
Journals@Ovid offers access to the table of contents and references for 500 biomedical titles, with access to items such as research articles, book and other media reviews, editorials, abstracts of symposia and calendars. The LWW Collection (Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins), part of the Journals@Ovid database, provides access to the full-text of 140 clinical nursing and medical journals in the Journals@Ovid collection. Some of these journals are indexed in CINAHL with links to the Ovid full-text. Journals@Ovid is updated daily, and most journals cover from 1996 to the present.
ProQuest Health Management This link opens in a new window
Articles on health administration topics
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and other resources; nursing and allied health topics
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides complete, full-text information from leading nursing allied health, and related publications. Over 620 titles cover more than 70 topics, spanning from 1986 to the present.
PubMed @ Fisher This link opens in a new window
Articles in medicine and life sciences; some full-text. (PubMed Research Guide Available)
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journal articles; science, social science, and humanities topics
The ScienceDirect College Edition provides libraries with access to over 1200 peer-reviewed full-text journals in pharmacology, toxicology, pharmaceutics, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, microbiology, health sciences, immunology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences, decision sciences, business, management, and accounting, economics, econometrics, and finance, environmental science and agriculture. Journal coverage dates back to 2002.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of peer-reviewed research literature such as scholarly journals, books and chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications, along with metrics and analytical tools to work with those citations. Fields covered include the sciences, social sciences, health, arts, and humanities.