LibGuides: Alumni Resources at Lavery Library: Databases

Access On-Campus

While alumni are unable to access library databases from off-campus due to publisher restrictions, you can visit the library in-person and access our collection of electronic materials on guest wi-fi.

NOVEL Databases

These databases are accessible from within New York State without using a Fisher login, through a program called NOVELNY.

Read more about NOVELNY

Gale Business: Insights
Research and analysis of companies, industries, and economies (NOVEL)
Gale Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources (NOVEL)
Gale General OneFile
Journal and news articles; all topics (NOVEL)
Health Reference Center Academic
Reference information, articles, news, video; medicine and health topics (NOVEL)
Gale OneFile News (formerly Infotrac Newsstand)
Full-text newspapers (NOVEL)
Kids InfoBits (K-12)
Articles, reference materials and images for a K-5 audience (NOVEL)
New York State Newspapers
Newspapers published in New York state; includes Buffalo News and Syracuse Post-Standard (NOVEL)
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Scholarly and popular resources on current political and social issues (NOVEL)

Free/Open-Access Databases

The following free or open-access databases are also accessible to community members and alumni, from on- or off-campus.

Agricola
Search the Catalog and Articles database of the National Agricultural Library (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC)
AGRIS
Agricultural science and technology topics: chiefly full text, including reports and grey literature
arXiv.org
E-prints for physics, math, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics
Childstats.gov
Statistics and reports about children and families
Congress.gov
Laws, Congressional documents, treaties, other U.S. Government resources
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Article and journal title searches; open access journals covering scientific and scholarly subjects
Fisher Digital Publications
Scholarly and creative work produced by Fisher students, faculty, and staff, including articles, posters, theses and dissertations
A repository of scholarship produced by the Fisher community. Contains:
- Articles and presentations authored by Fisher faculty and staff
- Journals published at Fisher
- Student work, including undergraduate honors projects, masters theses, doctoral dissertations, and student artwork

Google Scholar (for alumni and non-SJFC users)
Scholarly articles and other literature with citation links; not all content is Open-Access (Research Guide Available)

International Children’s Digital Library (K-12)
E-books for children in over 40 languages

Free e-books for children in over 40 languages
Library Research Guides
Resource guides created by Lavery Librarians to assist in your research

The library is proud to offer you subject guides to assist in your research. These subject guides are made by your librarian, guiding you through the resources of Lavery Library to find those items that will be most helpful in your topic of research.
OAIster
Open-access digital resources from library and archive collections

Catalog of open-access digital resources from library and archive collections, through the WorldCat interface.

For access through the FirstSearch database platform, use this link: http://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/FSIP?dbname=OAIster
PBS LearningMedia New York (formerly VITAL)
Video, audio, images and clip art for use in education
Freely available: just create your own account

PBS LearningMedia New York (formerly VITAL) features over 50,000 multimedia components. New York State Public Broadcasting stations provide the service free to all New York State K-12 & Adult Literacy educators, home schoolers and their students. EdVideo Online gives you streaming and downloading of educational video, audio, images and clip art. Create quizzes and lessons, and access teacher guides and student handouts. Create and publish classroom podcasts and access a large library of PBS programs and instructional multimedia, correlated to New York State Standards!
PubChem
Substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively.
PubMed @ Fisher
Articles in medicine and life sciences; some full-text. (PubMed Research Guide Available)

PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
OSTI (US Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information)
Science topics: contains articles, citations, multimedia, data and grey literature

SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. SciTech Connect incorporates all of the R&D information from these two products into one search interface.