LibGuides: Alumni Resources at Lavery Library: Databases by Subject

Multiple Subjects

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Article and journal title searches; open access journals covering scientific and scholarly subjects
Fisher Digital Publications This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and creative work produced by Fisher students, faculty, and staff, including articles, posters, theses and dissertations
A repository of scholarship produced by the Fisher community. Contains:
- Articles and presentations authored by Fisher faculty and staff
- Journals published at Fisher
- Student work, including undergraduate honors projects, masters theses, doctoral dissertations, and student artwork

Gale Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources (NOVEL)
Gale General OneFile
Journal and news articles; all topics (NOVEL)
Google Scholar (for alumni and non-SJFC users)
Scholarly articles and other literature with citation links; not all content is Open-Access (Research Guide Available)

OAIster This link opens in a new window
Open-access digital resources from library and archive collections
Catalog of open-access digital resources from library and archive collections, through the WorldCat interface.

For access through the FirstSearch database platform, use this link: http://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/FSIP?dbname=OAIster

Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Scholarly and popular resources on current political and social issues (NOVEL)

Childstats.gov This link opens in a new window
Statistics and reports about children and families
International Children’s Digital Library (K-12) This link opens in a new window
E-books for children in over 40 languages
Free e-books for children in over 40 languages

Kids InfoBits (K-12)
Articles, reference materials and images for a K-5 audience (NOVEL)
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Scholarly and popular resources on current political and social issues (NOVEL)

PBS LearningMedia New York (formerly VITAL) This link opens in a new window
Video, audio, images and clip art for use in education
Freely available: just create your own account
PBS LearningMedia New York (formerly VITAL) features over 50,000 multimedia components. New York State Public Broadcasting stations provide the service free to all New York State K-12 & Adult Literacy educators, home schoolers and their students. EdVideo Online gives you streaming and downloading of educational video, audio, images and clip art. Create quizzes and lessons, and access teacher guides and student handouts. Create and publish classroom podcasts and access a large library of PBS programs and instructional multimedia, correlated to New York State Standards!

Gale Business: Insights
Research and analysis of companies, industries, and economies (NOVEL)

PubChem This link opens in a new window
Substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Search the Catalog and Articles database of the National Agricultural Library (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC)
AGRIS This link opens in a new window
Agricultural science and technology topics: chiefly full text, including reports and grey literature
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
E-prints for physics, math, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics
OSTI (USDOE's Office of Scientific and Technical Information) This link opens in a new window
Science topics: contains articles, citations, multimedia, data and grey literature
SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. SciTech Connect incorporates all of the R&D information from these two products into one search interface.

PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Trip Medical Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
DailyMed
The DailyMed database contains labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. DailyMed does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products (e.g., labeling that is not submitted to the FDA).

DrugBank Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, free-to-access, online database containing information on drugs and drug targets. A bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource, it combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.

Drugs@FDA
Drugs@FDA includes information about drugs, including biological products, approved for human use in the United States (see FAQ),
more...less...
It does not include information about FDA-approved products regulated by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (for example, vaccines, allergenic products, blood and blood products, plasma derivatives, cellular and gene therapy products). For prescription brand-name drugs, Drugs@FDA typically includes the most recent labeling approved by the FDA (for example, Prescribing Information and FDA-approved patient labeling when available), regulatory information, and FDA staff reviews that evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the drug.

PEDro, Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 27,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.

Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and magazines in full text (NOVELNY).
Formerly named “Infotrac Newsstand.”
New York State Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers from around New York State (includes Catholic Courier and Pioneer)
Historical newspapers from around New York State, provided by libraries and archives (includes Catholic Courier)