LibGuides: Athletic Performance Resources: Search for Articles

Use the Library to Find Articles

There are over 150 databases available at Lavery Library that you can use to search for articles and sources. This curated list is a starting point for your research in the disciplines covered in Athletic Performance studies. They are a combination of scholarly, popular, and primary sources.

Subject Databases

You can use these subject-specific databases to access sources of information related to the study of Athletic Performance.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive journal article database covering sports studies and sports medicine
SPORT Discus provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. This database includes over 650,000 records going back to 1800 from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journal articles; science, social science, and humanities topics
The ScienceDirect College Edition provides libraries with access to over 1200 peer-reviewed full-text journals in pharmacology, toxicology, pharmaceutics, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, microbiology, health sciences, immunology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences, decision sciences, business, management, and accounting, economics, econometrics, and finance, environmental science and agriculture. Journal coverage dates back to 2002.
APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Psychology and related disciplines; full-text articles, books, reviews and more. Includes APA PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO.
PubMed @ Fisher This link opens in a new window
Articles in medicine and life sciences; some full-text. (PubMed Research Guide Available)
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals; all topics.
"The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.

These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1."
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering social sciences, health, and life sciences
Taylor & Francis Complete offers full-text access to 1400+ scholarly journals with back files published by Taylor & Francis or Routledge. The collection covers all academic disciplines emphasizing social sciences, health and life sciences and applied research.

Multidisciplinary Databases and Google Scholar

You can use these to find a variety of information sources, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles, across many topics.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
All disciplines; scholarly, trade and popular articles
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of peer-reviewed research literature such as scholarly journals, books and chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications, along with metrics and analytical tools to work with those citations. Fields covered include the sciences, social sciences, health, arts, and humanities.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other literature with citation links (Google Research Guide Available)
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade and news articles; all topics
All ProQuest Databases rolled into one.
ProQuest GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, reports and other materials; gender-related topics
GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.

Newspapers & Magazines

New York Times (Sign Up or Renew) This link opens in a new window
Create an account on NYTimes.com using Lavery Library's academic subscription, and you can access all content on their site.
Already have an account set up?
- Link to the New York Times (unlimited access on browser or mobile apps)
- Link to the New York Times “TimesMachine” for access to historical archives (limited to up to 5 PDF downloads per day, per user).

Wall Street Journal (Create Account)
If you are a Fisher student or a member of the faculty and staff, you can get free access to The Wall Street Journal. To activate your free student access, visit and select “student” account type.
more...less...
Activate your account through Lavery Library's institutional subscription to access all content on the WSJ site or app, including news, industry reporting, instructional materials, and more.

ProQuest US NewsStream This link opens in a new window
Major US news sources, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post
Provides comprehensive coverage of major US newspapers, including the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, as well as other important U.S. newspapers.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and magazines in full text (NOVELNY).
Formerly named “Infotrac Newsstand.”
ProQuest Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Bilingual (English/Spanish) full text of articles from ethnic, minority, and native presses
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.

Tutorials and How-Tos

Research Basics at Lavery Library
How to get started; the basics of how to find articles, books, and more.
Lavery Library Video Tutorials
Tutorials on how to find articles, how to cite your sources, how to know when an article is scholarly or peer-reviewed, and more.
APA PsycNET and PubMed @ Fisher Tutorials on the Lavery Library Psychology Guide
Lavery Library Research Guide: Searching the Literature
How to find articles in order to write an annotated bibliography or a research paper

Scholarly Journals in Athletic Performance

Key Journals

Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research
National Strength & Conditioning Association (U.S.)
Strength and Conditioning Journal
National Strength & Conditioning Association (U.S.)
International Journal of Strength and Conditioning
International Universities Strength and Conditioning Association, issuing body.
Journal of Athletic Training
National Athletic Trainers Association

More Journals

American Journal of Sports Medicine
American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine
ASCM's Health & Fitness Journal
American College of Sports Medicine
British Journal of Sports Medicine
British Association of Sport and Medicine
International Journal of Athletic Therapy & Training
International Journal of Exercise Science
At least one author of every article published in this journal is a student that has played a role in the research study.
Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise
American College of Sports Medicine
Research in Sports Medicine
Sports Health
American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine
Sports Medicine

Video: Find Articles in a Specific Journal

Learn how to find a specific journal through the library's website. You can browse a journal for articles on your topic, and search within a specific journal for keywords related to your topic.