LibGuides: Media and Communications: Articles

Finding Background Information

When a topic is relatively new to you, you may want to use a reference source to find background information

SAGE Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries; all topics.

Databases with a variety of information

These databases hold a variety of information on lots of topics and of many types (scholarly, trade, and popular publications). Be sure to know what you need and what type of information you have found.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
All disciplines; scholarly, trade and popular articles
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business topics; journal articles, reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and trade publications in communication and media fields
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade and news articles; all topics
All ProQuest Databases rolled into one.

Strictly Scholarly

You can be sure to find scholarly resources by using these databases.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in the arts, sciences and business
A full-text database containing complete back runs of over 600 academic journals in the arts, sciences, and business. Titles in the database are 1-5 years behind the current issues, depending on publisher restrictions.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals; all topics.
"The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.

These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1."

Newspaper Articles

You can find newspaper articles by using these databases.

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers and newswires
New York State Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers from around New York State (includes Catholic Courier and Pioneer)
Historical newspapers from around New York State, provided by libraries and archives (includes Catholic Courier)
New York Times (Sign Up or Renew) This link opens in a new window
Create an account on NYTimes.com using Lavery Library's academic subscription, and you can access all content on their site.
Already have an account set up?
- Link to the New York Times (unlimited access on browser or mobile apps)
- Link to the New York Times “TimesMachine” for access to historical archives (limited to up to 5 PDF downloads per day, per user).
ProQuest Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Bilingual (English/Spanish) full text of articles from ethnic, minority, and native presses
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
ProQuest GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, reports and other materials; gender-related topics
GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades.
ProQuest US NewsStream This link opens in a new window
Major US news sources, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post
Provides comprehensive coverage of major US newspapers, including the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, as well as other important U.S. newspapers.
Wall Street Journal (Create Account) This link opens in a new window
Activate your account through Lavery Library's institutional subscription to access all content on the WSJ site or app, including news, industry reporting, instructional materials, and more.

Media and Communications

Article Databases

Head of Systems and Subscriptions

Finding Background Information

Databases with a variety of information

Strictly Scholarly

Newspaper Articles