The databases below are some of Lavery Library's best bets for researching literature and related interdisciplinary topics. For more specific information about searching for literary criticism, use the Literary Criticism page.
Full text journal articles in fields including art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre, religion, and cultural studies.
Arts & Humanities Database complements the ProQuest Arts and Humanities portfolio, providing online access to 400 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more. Arts & Humanities Database titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. -- from https://about.proquest.com/products-services/Arts_and_Humanities.html
Full-text journals in the arts, sciences and business
A full-text database containing complete back runs of over 600 academic journals in the arts, sciences, and business. Titles in the database are 1-5 years behind the current issues, depending on publisher restrictions.
"The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.
These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1."
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
