LibGuides: Publishing: Undergraduate Journals & Literary Magazines

Individual Sites and Lists of Publishing Venues

Undergraduate Scholarship/Research:

Soaring
A journal featuring students’ scholarly research. Published by the Honors Program at Fisher, the journal features the work of Fisher's undergraduate students representing any discipline.
Undergraduate Research Journal
Publishes creative and research works from undergraduates nationwide
American Journal of Undergraduate Research
Publishes creative and research works from undergraduates internationally
Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR)'s list of Undergraduate Research Journals
Undergraduate Research Commons: Journals & Conferences
Contains undergraduate journals and conferences, many of which are open to nationwide submission. Organized by discipline.
Undergraduate Research Journals - List by Illinois Office of Undergraduate Research
List of journals that publish original research articles by undergraduates, many of which accept nationwide submissions
Ulrichsweb
Database containing information about scholarly and creative journals, magazines, and newspapers.
more...less...
Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. The database provides information on active, forthcoming, ceased, and suspended titles in more than 900 subject areas.

Literary Magazines/Creative Work (not undergraduate-focused):

Poets & Writers
Poets & Writers database of literary magazines
Individual Literary Magazines Online
List of selected individual literary magazines available online, not associated with colleges or universities
2024 Pushcart Prize Literary Magazine Rankings for Fiction, Nonfiction, & Poetry
Scroll down page to see list of lit mags ranked by Clifford Garstang, editor of Prime Number Magazine.
National Undergrad Literary Magazines
List of undergrad literary magazines that are open to nationwide undergraduate submissions
Ulrichsweb
Database containing information about scholarly and creative journals, magazines, and newspapers
more...less...
Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. The database provides information on active, forthcoming, ceased, and suspended titles in more than 900 subject areas.

Local Publishing Platforms

ANGLES
ANGLES is a magazine that publishes brief prose and poetry that reveals distinct and important perspectives on ourselves and our world.
SOARING
A journal featuring students’ scholarly research. Published by the Honors Program at St. John Fisher University, the journal features the work of Fisher's undergraduate students representing any discipline.
Fisher Digital Publications
St. John Fisher University's online repository houses scholarly work from the Fisher community. Students are able to publish scholarly work by submitting to the Undergraduate Review Journal: undergraduatereview@sjfc.edu, or by working with a faculty member from their department. For more information, contact fisherpub@sjfc.edu.

Rochester-Area Publications:

Roc Wiki List of Publications
Rochester's community-run wiki page of area publications.
585 Magazine
Focuses on the 6 Rochester-area counties that use a 585 area code, covering food, drink, culture, destinations, and personalities.
Life in the Finger Lakes Magazine
Lifestyle magazine to represent the 14-county region available in print and digitally.
City Newspaper
Rochester's City Newspaper

Tips for Getting Published

The Ultimate Guide To Getting Published In A Literary Magazine
Guide to getting published in a lit mag by editor-in-chief of Electric Literature, Lincoln Michel.
Poets & Writers on Finding a Literary Agent
Information on finding a literary agent, what to submit to a literary agent, what literary agents can do for you, contracts, and more
10 Ways to Make Your Submission Stand Out From the Slushpile - Writer's Digest

What are your author rights?

Author rights are important part of your investigation into submitting works for publication. You never know if you will want to publish or share your work again in the future! Be sure you know what rights you retain as an author when you work with a publisher, and what rights they retain.

Visit Poets & Writers' Copyright Information for Writers page to learn more: http://www.pw.org/content/copyright

Copyright Information

Some of the resources on this guide page were compiled by Jillian Maruskin, librarian at the Ohio Wesleyan University Libraries. They have been adapted by Kourtney Blackburn at Rochester, NY. Other users of LibGuides are welcome to use this Guide as a template and to make changes as necessary to fit their custom needs. Please retain this box at the bottom of the Home page.