LibGuides: DNP (Doctor of Nursing Practice): Find Articles

Searching Lavery for Articles

There are many databases available through Lavery Library that you can use to start your research. In the box below, are listed some popular nursing and health databases. Keep in mind, depending on your topic, you may need to refer to databases outside of the nursing and health fields. When this happens you can find the full list of databases using the link below.

If you have questions or want help starting your research, contact me to set up a one-on-one consultation.

Databases A-Z
Link to full list of available Lavery Library databases.
Interlibrary Loan
Help with accessing articles not available through Lavery Library.

Getting started with searching the literature

If you're just starting your journey, and need a little extra guidance on how to start searching the literature. use the guides linked below. They offer suggestions and examples on how to start searching the literature.

Searching the Literature
Use this Guide to learn how to get started searching for literature on your topic. Note, this link opens in a new tab.
Building Search Skills
The skills covered on this Guide are best learned after gaining a foundation of library search skills. Note, this link opens in a new tab.

Nursing and Health Databases

The database list below is not exhaustive, but includes popular nursing and health-related databases. This list can serve as a starting point for your literature search.

APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Psychology and related disciplines; full-text articles, books, reviews and more. Includes APA PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Articles: nursing and health topics, now with more full text
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, medical topics; includes patient education sheets from AHFS Consumer Medication Information
Journals@Ovid Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text of clinical nursing and medical journals
Journals@Ovid offers access to the table of contents and references for 500 biomedical titles, with access to items such as research articles, book and other media reviews, editorials, abstracts of symposia and calendars. The LWW Collection (Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins), part of the Journals@Ovid database, provides access to the full-text of 140 clinical nursing and medical journals in the Journals@Ovid collection. Some of these journals are indexed in CINAHL with links to the Ovid full-text. Journals@Ovid is updated daily, and most journals cover from 1996 to the present.
ProQuest Health Management This link opens in a new window
Articles on health administration topics
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and other resources; nursing and allied health topics
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides complete, full-text information from leading nursing allied health, and related publications. Over 620 titles cover more than 70 topics, spanning from 1986 to the present.
PubMed @ Fisher This link opens in a new window
Articles in medicine and life sciences; some full-text
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journal articles; science, social science, and humanities topics
The ScienceDirect College Edition provides libraries with access to over 1200 peer-reviewed full-text journals in pharmacology, toxicology, pharmaceutics, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, microbiology, health sciences, immunology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences, decision sciences, business, management, and accounting, economics, econometrics, and finance, environmental science and agriculture. Journal coverage dates back to 2002.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of peer-reviewed research literature such as scholarly journals, books and chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications, along with metrics and analytical tools to work with those citations. Fields covered include the sciences, social sciences, health, arts, and humanities.