LibGuides: Scholarly Impact: Author Impact

What is Author Impact?

Traditionally, author impact has been measured by looking at the number of publications you have, and the number of citations these publications have received. Author impact can be used for a variety of reasons including tenure and promotion, grant applications, and more. There are a number of tools available to capture author impact data that will be introduced below.

Common Author Metrics

H-Index

A widely used and accepted measurement used for research output, available through Web of Science and Google Scholar. Refers to the number of publications attributed to an individual and how many times those publications have been cited.

Looks at the entire body of work form a researcher
Dependent on context and discipline
Does not account for a single work with large influence
Read more about the H-Index using the citation below.

Source of the H-Index
Hirsch, J. E. (2005). An index to quantify an individual's scientific research output. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 102(46), 16569-16572. https://doi.org/10.1073/pnas.0507655102

i10-Index

Created by Google Scholar and used in Google's My Citations feature. The i10-Index = the number of publications with at least 10 citations. This very simple measure is only used by Google Scholar, and is another way to help gauge the productivity of a scholar.

Very simple and straightforward to calculate
My Citations in Google Scholar is free and easy to use
Used only in Google Scholar

Resources for Author Metrics

Websites

The resources below are freely available, and you do not need to access these through the Library's Database A-Z list.

Google Scholar - Author Profile Search
Search by author to see both their H-index and i10 Indexes.
Publish or Perish Software
Free software used to analyze citations from Google Scholar. Includes Author Impact Analysis and Journal Impact Analysis. List H, G and E index numbers.
WorldCat Identities
Provides aggregated information about book authors including library holdings worldwide.

Lavery Library Resources

The following resources are available from on the Library's Database A-Z list.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of peer-reviewed research literature such as scholarly journals, books and chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications, along with metrics and analytical tools to work with those citations. Fields covered include the sciences, social sciences, health, arts, and humanities.
Dimensions (Create a Free Account) This link opens in a new window
Interlinked research information system that searches for scholarly publications, datasets, patents and grants
Lens This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly articles, conference proceedings, patents and more. Includes citation linking, data analysis, and visualization tools.
From The University of Arizona Libraries:
The Lens is an open global cyberinfrastructure that aims to make the innovation system more efficient, fair, transparent, and inclusive. It combines both global patent and scholarly knowledge into a public resource. Lens serves over 200 million scholarly records, compiled and harmonized from Microsoft Academic, PubMed and Crossref, enhanced with UnPaywall open access information, CORE full text, and links to ORCID. All Lens data is fully open, shareable, and reusable.
Lens.org offers robust discovery, analytics and management tools, including APIs for scholarly works, patents, and patent sequence data, Users can create their own accounts, enabling them to search, analyze, and receive updates within a private and secure online platform. Users can create/save queries, create collections, customize data analysis and visualizations, create interactive reports, and download up to 50,000 records at a time. Applications within Lens.org include:
- PatCite – enables discovering linkages between patents and scholarship
- In4M – maps and shows how scholars and their institutions have influenced other research and societal outcomes
- Collections – allows users to create, publish, and share curated collections of patents and scholarly works
- PatSeq – allows exploration and analysis of biological sequences in patents
Lens.org is a project of Cambia, an independent non-profit based in Australia.
Learn more About the Lens or watch the Lens Overview video.

Fisher Digital Publications

Fisher Digital Publications is Fisher's institutional repository, an online archive of works created by students, faculty, and staff.

Fisher Digital Publications This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and creative work produced by Fisher students, faculty, and staff, including articles, posters, theses and dissertations
A repository of scholarship produced by the Fisher community. Contains:
- Articles and presentations authored by St. John Fisher College faculty and staff
- Journals published at SJF
- Student work, including undergraduate honors projects, masters theses, doctoral dissertations, and student artwork

Instructions for checking Fisher Digital Publications Author Dashboard Stats
If an email address has been associated with your work on FDP, you can check usage statistics and even see your own Readership Map! Use these directions to learn how.

Subscription Resources Available at Nearby Institutions

The following resources are available are additional author impact tools that require subscriptions and are available at area colleges.

InCites: Bibliometric analysis layer for Web of Science
- Available from University of Rochester Libraries
Web of Science: Find and analyze your citing articles using an Author Record search
- Available from University of Rochester Libraries or RIT Libraries

Please visit these college or university library pages to learn how you can access these resources: