LibGuides: Scholarly Impact: Manuscript Impact

What is Manuscript Impact?

Manuscript-level metrics, also referred to as article-level metrics, take into account traditional metrics like citations, and also include alternative metrics or "altmetrics."

Common Manuscript Metrics

Article Citations

Citations to an article can be analyzed in multiple ways:

Total number of citations for an individual article
Geographic location of citations
Disciplinary distribution of citations
Citations compared to average citations in that journal or a particular field

Altmetrics

Common alternative metrics or Altmetrics are download counts and social media mentions, which help to measure the impact of an article outside of the formal mechanism of citations.

Altmetrics can answer questions such as:

How many times was it downloaded?
Who is reading my work? (on Mendeley, bookmarking sites, etc.)
Was it covered by any news agencies?
Are other researchers commenting on it?
How many times was it shared? (on Facebook, Twitter, etc.)
Which countries are looking at my research?

Metrics Toolkit
Browse different alternative metrics for definitions, uses, and limitations.

Meaningful Metrics by Robin Chin Roemer; Rachel Borchardt
Call Number: Upper Level Z669.8 .M43 2015
ISBN: 9780838987551
Publication Date: 2015-04-01

Free Online Tools to Measure Manuscript Impact

Free Online Tools

The following tools used to how author impact are freely available online, and do not need to be accessed through the Databases A-Z list.

Google Scholar
Search for articles by title, use the Cited by feature to track citation information per manuscript.
WorldCat Identities
Provides aggregated information about book authors including library holdings worldwide.
SciMAGO
Look up the journal where you published. Click on Citations per Document for the year you published to see if your article outperformed the average article.
Publish or Perish
Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses a variety of data sources (incl. Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search) to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents the following metrics:
more...less...
Total number of papers and total number of citations
Average citations per paper, citations per author, papers per author, and citations per year
Hirsch's h-index and related parameters
Egghe's g-index
The contemporary h-index
Three variations of individual h-indices
The average annual increase in the individual h-index
The age-weighted citation rate
An analysis of the number of authors per paper.

Lavery Library Resources to Measure Manuscript Impact

Lavery Library Resources

Many of the databases available through Lavery Library now include altmetrics alongside article information. There, you can find which research and other media cite a manuscript, how many times an article has been downloaded, and more. The following two resources, available from the Library Database A-Z list, go beyond altmetrics to connect you to related citations.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of peer-reviewed research literature such as scholarly journals, books and chapters, conference proceedings, and trade publications, along with metrics and analytical tools to work with those citations. Fields covered include the sciences, social sciences, health, arts, and humanities.
Dimensions (Create a Free Account) This link opens in a new window
Interlinked research information system that searches for scholarly publications, datasets, patents and grants
Lens This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly articles, conference proceedings, patents and more. Includes citation linking, data analysis, and visualization tools.
From The University of Arizona Libraries:
The Lens is an open global cyberinfrastructure that aims to make the innovation system more efficient, fair, transparent, and inclusive. It combines both global patent and scholarly knowledge into a public resource. Lens serves over 200 million scholarly records, compiled and harmonized from Microsoft Academic, PubMed and Crossref, enhanced with UnPaywall open access information, CORE full text, and links to ORCID. All Lens data is fully open, shareable, and reusable.
Lens.org offers robust discovery, analytics and management tools, including APIs for scholarly works, patents, and patent sequence data, Users can create their own accounts, enabling them to search, analyze, and receive updates within a private and secure online platform. Users can create/save queries, create collections, customize data analysis and visualizations, create interactive reports, and download up to 50,000 records at a time. Applications within Lens.org include:
- PatCite – enables discovering linkages between patents and scholarship
- In4M – maps and shows how scholars and their institutions have influenced other research and societal outcomes
- Collections – allows users to create, publish, and share curated collections of patents and scholarly works
- PatSeq – allows exploration and analysis of biological sequences in patents
Lens.org is a project of Cambia, an independent non-profit based in Australia.
Learn more About the Lens or watch the Lens Overview video.

Fisher Digital Publications - The Institutional Repository of St. John Fisher College

Fisher Digital Publications is Fisher's institutional repository, an online archive of works created by students, faculty, and staff.

Fisher Digital Publications This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and creative work produced by Fisher students, faculty, and staff, including articles, posters, theses and dissertations
A repository of scholarship produced by the Fisher community. Contains:
- Articles and presentations authored by Fisher faculty and staff
- Journals published at Fisher
- Student work, including undergraduate honors projects, masters theses, doctoral dissertations, and student artwork

Instructions for checking FDP Author Dashboard Stats
If an email address has been associated with your work on FDP, you can check usage statistics and even see your own Readership Map! Use these directions to learn how.

Subscription Resources Accessible at Nearby Institutions

The following resources are additional manuscript impact tools that require subscriptions and are available at area colleges.

Web of Science: Available from University of Rochester Libraries or RIT Libraries

Please visit these college or university library pages to learn how you can access these resources: