If you know the name of an instrument (e.g., Career Decision-Making Self-Efficacy Scale), or the variable you are trying to measure (e.g., nurse burnout), you can use the steps below to begin searching for a measurement tool. If you're not at this step, we recommend reaching out to either your supervising faculty or liaison librarian.
Use the links below to access the resources discussed in the following boxes.
Psychological tests, measures, surveys and other assessments
From the PsyscTESTS website (link opens in a new tab): [a] database providing descriptive summaries, full text, and relevant citations on the development and assessment of tests and measures that can be used in research and teaching.
Searching PsycTESTS, through APA PsycNET, while similar to searching other Library databases, differs in a few significant ways. Review the example searches below to familiarize yourself with searching for tools in this database before searching on your own.
Perhaps you already have a measurement tool in mind, maybe one you read about in another study. You can search for a tool by name. In the example below I searched for the "Burnout Measure." Make sure to use the drop-down menu to the right of the search bar to select "TI Title" when searching for a known item.
When searching for a known item, it's likely you will not have too many responses. In my example search with Burnout Measure, I had seven results. In addition to the description, the record will also have valuable information on the purpose of the tool, how it is to be administered, and its development. You can also find citation information for where the tool was first reported. In the case of the Burnout Measure, we also see a link for PDF; this means the full version of the test is available.This video has no narrative audio, descriptive captions are available.
Sometimes you might not have the name of a measurement tool, but you know what you'd like to measure. Searching for a tool by variable will allow you to review multiple options and select the best tool for your research question. In the example below I'm searching for measurement tools dealing with "nurse burnout."
When searching for a tool using a variable, the results list will likely retrieve a number of possible tools. Take the time to read the summaries of tools you think might work for your research. In addition to the summary, make sure to read all the additional information about the tool on the record. This video has no narrative audio, descriptive captions are available.
If you don't see a link for the PDF, it might still be possible to find the full version, look over to the Accessing a tool section of this guide.
From Lavery Library description of Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI): a comprehensive database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. HaPI is part of our EBSCO suite of databases.
Searching HaPI, while very similar to other EBSCO databases, will have a few significant differences. Review the example searches below to familiarize yourself with searching for tools in this database before searching on your own.
It's possible you already know the name of a measurement tool you're interested in using for your research. When this is true, you can search by the tool's name. In the example below I'm interested in finding a copy of the "Patient Recovery Inventory" so I place that in the search by and limit the search by Title.
When searching for a known item, it's likely you will have only a few results. In my example search for the Patient Recovery Inventory, I have 11 results to review. I'm only going to look at results which name the specific measurement tool I was searching for as their title. There are two possible options from the results list that match my search. After reviewing both resources, I noticed there was more useful information about the measurement tool from the second result. The example below highlights the areas of the Record you want to pay close attention to when searching for resources in HaPI. This video has no narrative audio, descriptive captions are available.
Sometimes you might not have the name of a measurement tool, but you know what you'd like to measure. Searching for a tool by variable will allow you to review multiple options and select the best tool for your research question. In the example below I'm searching for measurement tools dealing with the self-efficacy of college students.
When searching by variable, it's likely you will have a number of results to review. In my example search for self efficacy and college students, I have over a dozen results. I recommend reviewing the results to see if there is a measurement tool that fits more closely with your research topic. For instance, maybe my research is about students' self efficacy related to interactions with their peers. There are actually a few versions of this tool, so I'll want to review each one to see which option might work best. This video has no narrative audio, descriptive captions are available.
Finding full versions of measurement tools from HaPI typically involves using Interlibrary Loan; check over in the Accessing a tool section for steps on requesting full versions of tools from HaPI.
From Lavery Library description of Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY): provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments and is produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska. Mental Measurements Yearbook is part of our EBSCO suite of databases.
Searching Mental Measurements Yearbook, while very similar to other EBSCO databases, will have a few significant differences. Review the example searches below to familiarize yourself with searching for tools in this database before searching on your own.
Consider the measurement tool: College Student Experiences Questionnaire; maybe your faculty advisor asked you to look at this tool as a possible model for your research. When you know the name of the measurement tool, but not much else, MMY is great for reading reviews of tools. In the example below I searched for the "College Students Experiences Questionnaire" and limited to Title.
When searching for a known item, it's likely you will not have too many responses. In my example search with the College Students Experiences Questionnaire, I have four (4) results. I've selected the first result because it looks to be the newest edition of the tool. Once in the record for this questionnaire, look at the Purpose and view the HTML Full Text to read the review. Remember, MMY does not contain full text of measurement tools. This video has no narrative audio, descriptive captions are available.
Sometimes you might not have the name of a measurement tool, but you know what you'd like to measure. Searching for a tool by variable will allow you to review multiple options and select the best tool for your research question. In the example below I'm searching for reviews of measurement tools on the topic of college students and retention.
When searching by variable, it's likely you will have a number of results to review. In my example search for retention and college students, I have over two dozen results. I recommend reviewing the results to see if there is a measurement tool that fits more closely with your research topic. You can view the record of a tool to read the Purpose and see if it's something you want to learn more about. In the example video below I decided to take a closer look at the College Student Inventory [part of the Retention Management System], which was my top result. This video has no narrative audio, descriptive captions are available.
Once you find a measurement tool you want to use for your project, you will need to access the full version. Check out the Accessing a tool section of this guide for tips on finding the full version.
Lavery Library owns several educational test kits that may be borrowed for a limited time. These test kits are found in the K-12 Resource Center located on the lower level of the library. Click the Formal Assessments link at the bottom of this box to browse our Collection. To search for a test by name or topic keywords, type into the second search box to update the results displayed.
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures by 
Instruments for Clinical Health-Care Research by 
