LibGuides: Mental Health Counseling: Find Articles

Searching Lavery for Articles

There are many databases and journals available through Lavery Library that you can use to start your research. In the boxes below, are a selection of popular psychology and counseling databases and journals. Keep in mind, depending on your topic, you may need to refer to databases outside of your field. When this happens, you can find the full list of databases using the link below.

If you have questions or want help starting your research, contact me to set up a one-on-one consultation.

Getting Started with Searching

The two Guides listed below are great resources for helping you build your search skills. The first Guide is a basic overview of literature searching and the second Guide is intended to build upon your basic searching skills.

Searching the Literature
Our step-by-step tutorial on selecting a topic, doing a literature search, evaluating articles and other sources to make sure they fit your needs, and more.
Building Search Skills
The skills covered on this Guide are best learned after gaining a foundation of library search skills. Note, this link opens in a new tab.

Key Counseling Journals

Listed below are key journals in the field of counseling that are available through Lavery Library. There are many more journals focused on counseling and related fields available through the Library, and you can find those by using the Find Journals link on the Library homepage.

Key Subject Databases

Listed below are subject databases that you can use to search for articles across many journals. For a full list of Library databases you can use the Databases A-Z link on the Library homepage.

APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Psychology and related disciplines; full-text articles, books, reviews and more. Includes APA PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in the arts, sciences and business
A full-text database containing complete back runs of over 600 academic journals in the arts, sciences, and business. Titles in the database are 1-5 years behind the current issues, depending on publisher restrictions.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals covering life sciences, economics, law, humanities, medicine, math, and health sciences
Oxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press, which is a department of Oxford University. We publish well over 200 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and other resources; nursing and allied health topics
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides complete, full-text information from leading nursing allied health, and related publications. Over 620 titles cover more than 70 topics, spanning from 1986 to the present.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and business publications
ProQuest Research Library provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text of articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and key business publications. The database covers more than 3,700 publications, with full-text from over 2,500 publications. Titles are from 1972 forward, and the database is updated monthly.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals; all topics.
"The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.

These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1."
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journal articles; science, social science, and humanities topics
The ScienceDirect College Edition provides libraries with access to over 1200 peer-reviewed full-text journals in pharmacology, toxicology, pharmaceutics, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, microbiology, health sciences, immunology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences, decision sciences, business, management, and accounting, economics, econometrics, and finance, environmental science and agriculture. Journal coverage dates back to 2002.
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering social sciences, health, and life sciences
Taylor & Francis Complete offers full-text access to 1400+ scholarly journals with back files published by Taylor & Francis or Routledge. The collection covers all academic disciplines emphasizing social sciences, health and life sciences and applied research.